• Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 271 other followers

  • Recommended Blogs

Fire Ant Raft

File this one under “So fascinating, it’s funny.”

Scientists have discovered that when a group of fire ants are in water (like if their anthill was flooded, for example) the ants will join together to create a raft that can keep them alive for weeks. I first heard about this on NPR, but I didn’t realize how strong the raft was until I saw this video.

P.S. I understand that my step-Dad’s class often watches these videos on Wednesday, and since the school year is almost over I just wanted to say thanks for watching! (Psst, you can still visit and watch in the summer too!)

2 Responses

  1. I don’t think I’d want to be the guy holding the tool. Not as bad as the cobra pit cleaner, but still, don’t fire ants have a nasty bite?

    Mark told me he was showing your videos in (advisory) class again this morning. They liked the Best of Normal Day video.

    • Yes, fire ants most definitely have a nasty venomous bite. I once stepped in a hill of fire ants in Florida, and I can tell you from experience that they are pure evil.

      A lesser-known fact about fire ants is that they are not actually ants. They are a species of wingless wasp.

Leave a Reply

